The Tiny Dancer Affairs…Introduction

Awhile back, I decided that I needed a hobby. I always enjoyed dance as a girl so it seemed like the obvious choice of extra curricular activities. It was at dance school that I met Lisa, clearly the school’s best-trained dancer. She had a natural aptitude for learning the movements coupled with the unmistakable grace of a professional dancer. The class instructor consistently praised Lisa, it was clear that her talent made her a focal point at the studio. All the students noticed her skills and gravitated toward Lisa for extra help during and after class.

I was the only other student about the same age as Lisa so she enjoyed helping me and spending time chatting after class. The whole point of the hobby was for me to meet new people, so I was thankful to have a budding friendship on my hands. About two month after we met, I invited Lisa on a long weekend with myself and some other girlfriends. She was excited to be included and I was thrilled to have a new friend.

On the trip, we began to know each other better. I told the tales of Pizza Bagel and Rocker Boy and explained why I started taking dance class. She shared similar stories regarding ghosts of boyfriend’s past and her take on our dance class. I noticed that when she spoke she talked a lot about our dance instructor, Etienne, the owner of our school. Not only did she ask me what I thought about him but she also displayed knowledge of intimate details of his life. I had not realized that they were friendly outside of class so when Lisa admitted that she was dating Etienne I was surprised. Over the last two months, I never noticed anything between them nor heard her mention a boyfriend.

As my relationship with Lisa progressed so did my knowledge of her relationship with Etienne. Etienne was about ten years Lisa’s senior and he was recently divorced. His former wife was also a dancer and had opened the studio with him years ago. When Lisa started at the school, she took classes from both Etienne and his wife. She admired Etienne as an artist and as a man. She always felt connected to Etienne, so when the dissolution of his marriage was made public, Lisa felt the need to pursue Etienne romantically. One night after class, a group of student asked Etienne out for a glass of wine. He accepted and spent the night flirting with his prized pupil. Lisa said that the glances and subtle touches of the evening were foreshadowing of the events to come.  Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

