Vents and Promises

Every month I have the same conversation with my best friend at work. It’s always on a day when my boss is ragging on me, assignments are piled on my desk and I haven’t had a break to eat lunch.  I sulk over to his desk and I tell him, “I’m done.”

You see, if you knew me, like really knew me…it makes sense. I’m a quirky social person whose interpersonal skills are strongest.  Yet, I sit behind a computer screen working in the background of a financial operation.  I literally speak to no one.  Every day that goes by, I waste my talents and I don’t deal with anything that excites me.  I have no passion and no drive in my professional environment and it shows.  The wind is and has been out of my sails for a while and I’m ready to admit it.

Image

I used to write this blog and update it regularly. It was a creative outlet that gave me something to look forward to each week.  In a way I thought, maybe one topic or a certain story would strike a nerve with an audience and inspire the elusive next step.  Or maybe in my creative state, I would finally happen on an idea, something that would give me the momentum to get out of this dull soul-sucking workplace.

I have 1,000 excuses and 400 reasons why I shouldn’t leave my job; the subtext of all of them is fear. Fear of failure, the unknown, and fear that my family will suffer why I selfishly pursue professional happiness.  A true “first world problem”, I suppose.

In an effort to boost my own moral and get back into something I enjoy…I want to start blogging again. I have some juicy new stories to share and I need to start making time.  Join me as I begin flexing my creative muscles in an effort to stop complaining and start doing something about it.

If you have your own story to share about discovering your true passion or leaving the corporate world for a more satisfying career, I would love to hear what you have to say. And for the rest of you, the cubicle warriors that can’t stand the daily grind, I’ll shower you with snark from a hater to get you through the day.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

